Religious Studies

Curriculum Leader

Mrs D Pierce

Staff Members

Mr A Penhorwood

Year 7, 8 & 9

Year 10 & 11:

GCSE Religious Studies

Course overview: Year 10: 

4 units: Religion and philosophical themes

  • Christianity–  Beliefs about God, Beliefs about Creation, Beliefs about Jesus, Christian morals, Christian groups working for social justice, The Catholic and Protestant Churches, Church buildings, Christian prayer, Interfaith dialogue Persecution of Christians in the modern world.
  • Islam –  Beliefs about God – Allah Sources of Authority in Islam , The Mosque, prayer, rules about food. Obligatory acts 1: Shahadah, Zakat, Saddaqah and Sawm.
  • Life and death – creation, science and religious beliefs, Stewardship of the planet, Humans and animals, Origin and value of human life, Life after death, Funeral rites
  • Good and Evil –  Crime and punishment, prison reformers, the death penalty, peace conflict and reconciliation, what is evil.

Course overview: Year 11: 

4 units. Religion and philosophical themes

  • Christianity – forms of worship, the sacraments, pilgrimages and celebrations, Christianity in Britain, the church in the local community, the worldwide church.
  • Islam- the five pillars of Sunni Islam, the ten obligatory acts of Shi’a Islam, jihad, festivals and commemorations.
  • Relationships –  the family, different sexual relationships, the role of women in the church, issues of equality, gender prejudice and discrimination.
  • Human rights – human rights and social justice, prejudice and discrimination, issues of wealth and poverty.

Equality and Diversity

The equality and diversity course introduces the concept of equality and diversity in a variety of environments including society, the community and the workplace.
No exams just 3 assessment booklets to complete

This course is studied in YR10 and YR 11 These qualifications would enable you to move on to, youth work, community development work. Health and social care and customer service.

We will be looking at stereotypes and labelling

Look at the effects of prejudice and discrimination

Learn about rights and responsibilities.

The award requires you to study equality and diversity in society

While the certificate requires two further units, equality and diversity in the community and in the workplace

The Award is the equivalent to 1 GCSE

The Certificate is equivalent to 2 GCSE’s

The topics covered fall under 3 themes:

  1. Equality and diversity within Society
  2. Equality and diversity within the community
  3. Equality and diversity within the work place

Unit overview:  The objective of this qualification is to allow learners to:  raise their awareness of the issues surrounding equality and diversity and apply this awareness through their actions in society, community and the workplace.   Learners will gain an understanding of the terminology, application, context and social constructs relating to equality and diversity, which is of particular value to employers as they’ll be able to apply this to their professional life and further studies